On my last visit to Toronto, I was excited to hear that Pizza Nova had started to offer a gluten-free crust. However, when I went to order, I found cause for concern. Pizza Nova provides a PDF document on its website to alert customers to allergens in their pizza toppings and other food products; it’s a pretty comprehensive list, covering peanuts, tree nuts, sesame, milk products, eggs, fish, seafood, soy, sulphites, wheat, and gluten (wheat and gluten are listed as separate categories on the chart). Each ingredient is rated from zero to 3; zero means that the allergen is not present, 1 means that the allergen was present in the factory, 2 means that the allergen was used on the same production line, and 3 means that the allergen is present in the product.
What I noticed on the chart is that there are discrepancies in the ratings for the wheat and gluten categories. Pepperoni is rated 1 for wheat content but zero for gluten, as is the sautéed spinach and the ketchup. The chicken wings and the Hellman’s blue cheese dip get a 2 for wheat, and zero for gluten. The veal cutlets get a 3 for wheat — meaning that they absolutely do contain wheat — and a zero for gluten. By definition, if a product contains wheat, it contains gluten (though the reverse is not true, since a product could contain gluten — say, in the form of barley malt — and yet contain no wheat).
In the end, I was worried about the information that didn’t add up, and I decided to order from Pizza Pizza instead. Has anyone ordered a gluten-free pizza from Pizza Nova? I've just blogged about this on the Gluten-Free Guidebook, if you'd like to read more.